Homes to live in: Part II

Share

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

What is the House of tomorrow ?

Over the centuries, some architects took interest in imagining architectures that don’t follow any particular style or tradition. In Antiquity, Daedalus – inventor and architect of Greek mythology – had already created an architecture with perfect geometry, but with a very specific interior arrangement. Today, other architects like Junya Ishigami create unique universes and invent spaces that appear as a new model for living. We are therefore moving towards a more utopian architecture.

This research has been carried out before, it is not a 20th century invention! In France, Claude-Nicolas Ledoux (architect, urban planner and French utopian) was a real precursor in the 18th century. He draws on ancient architecture, which he then adapts to the 18th century one, thus leading to the appearance of the famous neoclassical style.

At the beginning of the 20th century, other new forms for houses appeared. This is the case of the Einstein Tower built by the architect Erich Mendelsohn, in Potsdam in 1914. Its unique design refers to the dynamism and the avant-garde of German expressionism at the time!

In the very prolific post-war period, the cinema puts ahead this dreamy “house of tomorrow” … Jacques Tati in his film « My Uncle » describes a wealthy uncle, the business owner who ordered a modern house, different from the others and with elaborate gadgets that impress the neighborhood!

But this kind of modern house also exists at this time, outside the cinema! This is particularly the case for André Bloc’s house in Meudon, which is almost completely open from the outside. He founded and directed the « Espace » movement which aimed to combine Art with new architectural and urban techniques of the time!

… Let’s continue with André Bloc, one of the key figures in the “utopian” architecture, with his Habitacles projects which he designed from the early 60s. The outdoor space is sculptural, and the interior space is usable. From this concept will appear an “Habitacle” house built in 1964 on the Spanish coast.

This new architecture, which developed in France during the 60s and 70s, also appeared in the form of so-called organic houses. We then meet architects like Jacques Couëlle, Pascal Haüsermann, Pierre Székély, Daniel Grataloup…

At the same time, another model of architectural research appeared which was nothing like the classical model. Advocated by the collaboration between Claude Parent and Paul Virilio, founders of the Architecture Principe group, the volumes take a specific form which stem from Paul Virilio’s interest in the specific architecture of blockhouses!

… Let’s not forget the children who thought very quickly about the house of their dreams!

With the 1960s and 1970s, groups of international architects, such as Archizoom in Italy and Archigram in England, worked on a completely new concept of « capsule » houses. Within this revolting society, the urban world needs to be completely rethought!

From the Sputnik space capsule a whole body of research on the house as a housing capsule was born in the 1960s, which would then be reduced to minimum habitat. From the “Maison tout en plastique” by Ionel Schein, presented in 1956 at the Salon des Arts Ménagers to the “Capsule Home” by Warren Chalk (from the Archigram group), in 1964, without forgetting the “Bulles” houses by Jean-Benjamin Maneval, the concept of house is revolutionized! Hans Walter Müller’s inflatable capsule houses are also very innovative in this same spirit. In this movement of very revolutionary architecture, Ionel Schein did not fail to recall: « we were illegals (…)« .

… And to end this long list, here is a contemporary architecture, the Lemoine house, an experimental architecture built by Rem Koolhass in 1998, in Floirac (France). With its internal platform adjustable on 3 levels, the owner can modulate the space as he wishes, according to his desires …

Pour conclure !

… Whether a house is in the middle of nowhere,

… whether it is in the midst of a town,

… whether it’s experimental,

…Or it is perfect,

… finally, they always impress us!

© since 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

Subscribe to the newsletter

To receive the Laffanour-Downtown Gallery newsletter, please use the contact form below.

Homes to live in: Part II

Partager

Partager sur email
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp

Qu’est-ce que la Maison de demain ?

A travers les siècles, certains architectes se sont intéressés à composer des architectures qui sortaient du modèle et de la tradition. Sous l’Antiquité, Dédale – inventeur et architecte de la mythologie grecque – avait déjà créé une architecture à la géométrie parfaite, mais avec un parcours intérieur bien spécifique. Aujourd’hui, d’autres architectes comme Junya Ishigami créent des univers uniques et inventent des espaces qui apparaissent comme un nouveau modèle pour l’homme. On se dirige alors vers une architecture plus utopique.

Cette recherche est ancienne, comme nous avons pu le voir précédemment. Ce n’est pas une invention du XXème siècle ! En France, Claude-Nicolas Ledoux (architecte, urbaniste et utopiste français) en est un véritable précurseur, au XVIIIème siècle. Il puise dans l’architecture antique, adaptée ensuite à celle du XVIIIème, ce qui aboutira au fameux style néoclassique.

Au début du XXème siècle, apparaissent d’autres formes nouvelles pour les maisons. C’est entre autres le cas de la Tour Einstein réalisée par l’architecte Erich Mendelsohn, à Potsdam en 1914. Sa conception unique renvoie au dynamisme et à l’avant-garde de l’expressionnisme allemand, à l’époque !

Dans la période très prolifique de l’après-guerre, le cinéma met en avant cette maison de demain qui en fait rêver beaucoup… Jacques Tati dans son film « Mon Oncle » présente l’oncle fortuné, patron d’entreprise qui a commandé une maison moderne, différente des autres et avec des gadgets élaborés qui impressionnent le voisinage !

Mais ce genre de maison moderne existe aussi à cette époque, en dehors du cinéma ! C’est le cas notamment de la maison d’André Bloc, à Meudon, presque totalement ouverte sur l’extérieur. Il fonda et dirigea le mouvement « Espace » qui eut pour but d’allier l’Art aux nouvelles techniques architecturales et urbanistiques de l’époque !

… Continuons avec André Bloc, l’un des acteurs incontournables de cette architecture utopique, avec ses projets Habitacles qu’il conçoit dès le début des années 60. L’espace extérieur est sculptural, et l’espace l’intérieur est utilisable. De cela découlera une maison « Habitacle » réalisée en 1964 sur la côte espagnole.

Cette architecture nouvelle qui se développe en France, dans le courant des années 60-70, apparaît aussi sous la forme de maisons dites organiques. On retrouve alors des architectes comme Jacques Couëlle, Pascal Haüsermann, Pierre Székély, Daniel Grataloup…

A la même époque apparaît aussi un autre modèle de recherche théorique qui n’a plus rien du modèle classique. Prônés par la collaboration entre Claude Parent et Paul Virilio, fondateurs du groupe Architecture Principe, les volumes prennent une forme spécifique qui découlent de l’intérêt que porte Paul Virilio à l’architecture spécifique des blockhaus !

… N’oublions pas les enfants qui ont eux-mêmes réfléchi très vite à la maison de leurs rêves !

Avec les années 60-70, des groupes d’architectes internationaux, comme Archizoom en Italie ou encore Archigram en Angleterre, travaillent sur un concept tout nouveau de maisons « capsules ». Au sein de cette société qui se révolte, le monde urbain est à repenser en totalité !

De la capsule spatiale Spoutnik naît dans les années 60 tout un ensemble de recherches sur la maison comme capsule d’habitation, qui se réduirait alors à l’habitat minimum. De la « Maison tout en plastique » de Ionel Schein, présentée en 1956 au Salon des Arts Ménagers à la « Capsule Home » de Warren Chalk (du groupe Archigram), en 1964, sans oublier les maisons « Bulles » de Jean-Benjamin Maneval, la maison est révolutionnée ! Les maisons capsules gonflables d’Hans Walter Müller sont aussi très novatrice dans cette même idée. Dans cette mouvance d’une architecture très révolutionnaire, Ionel Schein ne manquait pas de rappeler : « nous étions des clandestins (…) ».

… Et pour terminer cette longue liste, voici une architecture contemporaine, la maison Lemoine, une architecture expérimentale construite par Rem Koolhass en 1998, à Floirac (France). Avec sa plate-forme interne réglable sur 3 niveaux, le propriétaire peut moduler l’espace comme il le souhaite, au gré de ses envies…

Pour conclure !

… Que la maison soit au milieu de nulle part,

… qu’elle soit au milieu des villes,

… qu’elle soit expérimentale,

… Ou qu’elle soit parfaite,

… vraiment, ces maisons nous impressionneront toujours !

© depuis 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

Inscription à la newsletter

Pour recevoir la newsletter de la galerie Laffanour-Downtown, merci d’utiliser le formulaire de contact ci-dessous.