Turn the light on!

Share

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

History of the lamp

Architects and designers were passionate about it.
Because naturally, the light creates the decor, it illuminates it, allows it to express itself. What a wonderful adventure, the original flame becoming a light! The adventure of this flame of the past, golden, protective, which one day, with a simple finger movement playing with the switch, delivers the desired clarity to a workplace, or a resting place…
From the Antiquity oil lamp, to candles from the Middle Age, until the first Swan and Edison incandescent bulb, technical innovations have allowed the lamp to evolve over the centuries … From the wonderful lampshades in Tiffany glass to the provocative models of the 1960s and 1970s, a lamp is a testimony of a changing society, in a perpetual artistic and technological research. Lighting is a privileged witness of the whole world evolution. The great diversity of lamps, in terms of shape and materials, can also be explained by the multiplicity of uses. The Romans celebrated public celebrations with illuminations. Lamps were hung on windows the day a Prince was born. Thus, over the centuries, the lamp has continued to transform, and modify its services.

From the beginning of humanity, the fire was the only source of light, the first way to fight against darkness. Fire intervenes as a psychic progress before being technical!

As many forms as lamps !

From the beginning of time, the evolution of the design follows human needs: to heat, to protect themselves, to light up, and finally to decorate the habitat!

Le Souffleur à la lampe, Georges de la Tour, 1640… Light inspires painters from the Caravaggesque school! It is a crucial element of the composition.

Interior design of the Orrouer hotel belonging to Hubert de Givenchy. The lamps serve the overall decor, complement it and highlight it.

Innovation and aesthetics! Above, the Lépine and Bourdon lamp with triple air flow and glass vase.

Throughout the 20th century, the lamp continued to free itself from its primary function, it became a sculpture, it became a work of art on its own, it surprised the eye and often aroused curiosity through its forms and materials. At the very beginning of the century, its aesthetics followed the free spirit of the Belle Époque, and the forms were part of the floral style, particularly intense with the Art Nouveau style. The lamp is adorned with curves, colors, arabesques.

This Lotus glass table lamp, in molten glass, ca 1900-1906, designed by Tiffany Studios, was one of the most prestigious pieces of the time. The choice of Lotus reveals not only the oriental and Islamic influence that reigned over Art Nouveau, but also the fascination of this time for forms borrowed from nature. Like this Mushroom lamp by Emile Gallé (on the right)…

Louis Comfort Tiffany house, Oster Bay, Long Island

In the vast European Art Nouveau movement, the ephemeral Jugendstil movement seeks a break with the past! Peter Berens turns his back on the aesthetics of the late 90s and joined a totally different movement.

The following decade the Art Deco style imposes rigor and an almost total ornamental denudation. Straight lines are essential, and curves are prohibited. The late 1920s dictate a strict structure on the furniture, especially with the lamps.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

This model of table lamp by Edouard-Wilfrid Buquet, ca 1927, in chromed metal, shows these technological innovations put to service of Design. He filed a pendulum lamp patent in 1927, this revolutionary lamp remaining stable thanks to a clever adjustable counterweight system, with a base also weighted down. This system will also be used by Marcel Breuer, Jacques-Emile Ruhlmann…

D.R. – RMN

Created in 1924, the “Religieuse” lamp by Pierre Chareau is one of the 20th century masterpieces! A true sculpture, where the artist dears to make a solid wooden barrel, round and sensual, coexist with a very incisive alabaster, only weakened by its translucency! While evoking the famous religious “cornette”…

The parallel is inevitable! Carlo Mollino designed this model of lamp in brass, marble and parchment in 1947, which he called « Standard ».

The famous and timeless WG25 lamp, created in 1924, by Wilhem Wagenfeld, German industrial designer and member of the Bauhaus.

Jacques-Emile Ruhlmann, French decorator of the 1920s, set about creating light fixtures with clean lines, “enamored of slender forms, finely rhythmic, he tasted lovingly, almost sensually these precious materials which he harmonized as well outside or inside his furniture »

This lamp from the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of New York was designed by Rulhmann in 1926.

He participated in the decorating of the Ile-de-France ocean liner, with the help of Jules-Emile Leleu, André Mare and Louis Süe, and even the painter Mathurin Méheut. Here, the First Class lounge.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Jean Prouvé asserted « that there are no differences between the construction of a piece of furniture or a house ». This octagonal chandelier by the French architect, ca. 1927, in hammered wrought iron and frosted glass, also draws its inspiration from very rigorous, architectural forms. We are on the border between Art Nouveau and Art Deco, we feel the approach of modernity!

In the same idea, Robert Mallet Stevens, a French architect and designer, produced his masterpiece and true architectural manifesto: the Villa Cavroix, at Croix. The table lamp in the Hall-lounge, ca. 1929, is above all a functional light. Almost minimal.

Light is no more than a simple bulb, it becomes the playground for the Union des Artistes Modernes artists, especially in this hall of their first exhibition in 1930.

Jean Royère, iconic self-taught decorator of the 20th century, thinks of furniture with a fanciful, uninhibited design, breaking free from the codes. He devotes himself above all to the notion of decor and imagines real “ensembles” with a unique aesthetic. This Liane Lamp, ca. 1950, puts ornament at the service of functionality. Jean Royère deforms the metal tube which becomes a wavy line, like a climbing plant. It goes beyond the primary function of lighting.

And as for our great 1950s designers, they play simplicity with the creation of potence lamps!

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Lamp becomes lamp again, in its simplest device, with Jean Prouvé, according to the state of mind and the aesthetic movement of the time, among French post-war architects. This potence lamp, ca. 1947, in black lacquered tubular metal, combines elegance and minimalism of means.

House in Meudon, ca. 1952

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Charlotte Perriand also designs swiveling potence lamps. This rare model (1938) comes from her own apartment in rue Las Cases in Paris.

Her lightings are intended to be functional, like all of her furniture. She imagines the wall sconce « CP1 », ca. 1965, lamp with pivoting shutter, an ingenious system allowing to move the orientation of the light. Her vast construction site in Les Arcs in Savoie is an opportunity for her to apply her ideas in mass production.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Here, the lamp is part of a specific urban project. This concrete light was designed by Le Corbusier in 1954. The model was first produced for Cité Radieuse garden in Marseille, and then will be also used in the public spaces of the city of Chandigarh and the Sarabhai villa in Amhedabad in India.

In the 1950s, the lamp became sculpture!

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Isamu Noguchi, in order to save his native village in difficulty after the war, designs a series of lights inspired by the Japanese lantern tradition. The aesthetic is modern, the artist calls it « light sculpture« . The lamps are made of Mino paper, made from the mulberry tree, and the shapes are reminiscent of traditional fishermen’s baskets.

Archives Steph Simon
Archives Steph Simon

Exhibition at Steph Simon gallery, on boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris

Serge Mouille, originally a goldsmith and brassware graduate, also decides to devote his entire creation to lighting, after being an apprentice of the decorator Jacques Adnet. Throughout the 1950s, Mouille designed lamps with angular load-bearing structures but with curved reflectors evoking plants with a soft and sensual form of the female breast, thus mixing inventiveness and delicacy. He developed a unique brass ball joint system to allow the reflectors to rotate to the desired light.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

He created in the 60s this series of so called totems and signals evoking New York buildings.

The work of artist Dan Flavin is highlighted here. « Light is an industrial and familiar object » writes Donald Judd in 1964 when he looks at Flavin’s work, « it is a new form of art; henceforth art could be composed of all kinds of objects, materials and new techniques.”

Collection privée, Belgique / Courtesy Galerie Downtown

Mouille says that « his lights are a reaction to contemporary Italian models », which he said were « too complicated » …

Let’s talk about !

At the same time, Italian post-war design was marked by a significant change compare to inter-war period. A whole generation of creators would perceive furniture in a completely different, often entertaining way, where it will be a question of reinventing forms and function. The colors, the shapes, the primary aspect of the object, are re-imagined and sometimes, made fun of!

The Fontana Arte company, founded by the architects Gio Ponti and Luigi Fontana, benefits from the economic prosperity of the 1950s. The highly qualified craftsmen at its service are constantly looking for innovative techniques and new models, like this glass suspension, ca. 1955, below.

Gino Sarfatti, known for his incredible passion for lighting, creates models full of fantasy, which reflect the climate of lightness and exuberance that prevailed in post-war Italy.

The constant search for innovation in terms of shape and materials brings Gino Sarfatti to the design of this « Moon » suspension, ca. 1969, one of the singular creations that will make his reputation!

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Above, another model of floor lamp illustrating the extremely diversified production of the designer, combining rigor and minimalism, the model « 1063 », ca. 1954. He uses neon as a structural and decorative element.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown François Laffanour – D.R.

In the mid-1960s, a dissenting group of Italian architects and designers – including Ettore Sottsass – followed the Antidesign movement in reaction to the consumer society. He will be as much an industrial designer, confronted with ergonomics and productivity, as a creator free to invent all the furniture and objects from his imagination! Asteroid lamp, designed in 1968, illustrates the creative richness of the designer.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

The « Ultrafragola » mirror, now a true icon, combines the two functions, to be seen, certainely, but in an « enlightened » way. It was designed in the early 1970s and will be produced by Poltronova. Its sinuous silhouette evokes a wavy woman’s hair …

« In what concerns the lights that come out from « grey furniture », don’t the tombs always have sparkling lights which illuminate the sadness of the wandering spaces in the dusty valley? And the submarines don’t they have green lights flashing in their belly? The lights are supposed to come out of the fiberglass body, like the bright white light of the skin of white breasts, or the bright red tip of the penis in porn nights, something like that, I mean something like the Japanese fireflies that transform the nights of May into solid matter. Can there be something more ridiculous? « 

(Ettore Sottsass, « Could something be more ridiculous? », In « Design », London, 262, October 1970)

“Ettore Sottsass” exhibition, 2017, Galerie Downtown, Paris

Superstudio archives: the light in the decor is reduced to a simple bulb, in opposition to the eccentricity of the rest of the decor.

Gaetano Pesce and his “Aiport” lamp, designed in 1986, in urethane and metal. He said, « I like useful things, like furniture or light fixtures, which I turn into militant elements. » As a visionary designer, he always used the materials of his time, as a way to better understand his era.

And above, the Moloch lamp, ca. 1970. Masterpiece by the artist, this lamp is probably one of the last euphoric creations of the artist, which will also be one of the icons of the exhibition consecrating Italy and the artist:  » Italy, the New Domestic Landscape «  at MoMA in New York in 1972.

Below, Golden Gate floor lamp designed in 1970 by artist Nanda Vigo, who was particularly interested in light and its dynamics, and who built space using light elements and materials from industrial production, namely glass, mirror and neon.

During her career, she met Lucio Fontana, who also worked with light, notably creating neon structures, entitled “Luce Spaziale”, for the IX Triennale in Milan in 1951, but also for the Italian pavilion at Turin exhibition in 1961…

The Greek artist Vassilakis Takis, who disappeared recently, has never stopped, throughout his prolific career, creating magnetic and sound works, powerful, veritable hymns to energy and the universe. One day, while waiting for the train to London, he was fascinated by the incessant ballet of signals and flashes that surrounded him. The monumental La Defense sculptures (above) are imagined as a forest of light that Man artificially creates to find his way and avoid death.

Above, Takis Light Signal in a private collection.

Back in France at the end of the 1970s, Philippe Starck designed « Easy Light ». He thus conceives the total disappearance of the lamp as an object, to keep only a stick of light, a simple beam that can be in permanent movement, according to the needs of its owner.

Here, Philippe Starck and his Easy Light walk around Bains Douches!

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Above, a pair of bright nightstands designed by Ron Arad, from his One-off era. The work is a doubly functional object, but it is also a real sculpture, following an almost punk aesthetic.

In 1980, he also designed this remote-controlled telescopic arm lamp, called « Aerial Light ».

Change of a scenery !

Ingo Maurer, recently disappeared, a German designer trained in graphic arts, specializes in lighting and devotes himself to the creation of lighting sets. The latter are characterized by a poetic, enchanting style, always with a touch of humor and playfulness.

Below, the pendant light « Cuore Aperto » designed in 1996 specially for the « Sagra », an annual Italian party that Ingo Maurer particularly liked.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Here, this 2.80m diameter aluminum prototype which was produced for the Hudson Hotel in New York in 2000.

Today, a contemporary sculptor can also see in the functional object a way of putting his work into “Light”, like Richard Texier whose lightings take up a terrestrial and aquatic bestiary from the Trees of Life, which he created in the 2000s.

Olafur Eliasson, a contemporary artist, explores the different facets of what he calls « materiality », in particular the notion of light. His works are monumental and sensory. Above, the Weather Project, designed in 2003 for the Tate Modern in London. This powerful light installation takes the visitor to another world: a work between poetry and surrealism.

James Turell, American contemporary artist, designs a series called « skyspaces », which consist of bright, self-contained rooms, providing an immersive experience. Each room has an opening in the ceiling that opens up to the sky, to bring light to the viewer by making it oscillate between sky and earth.

And there was Light !

© since 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

Subscribe to the newsletter

To receive the Laffanour-Downtown Gallery newsletter, please use the contact form below.

Turn the light on!

Partager

Partager sur email
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp

History of the lamp

Architectes et designers se sont passionnés pour elle.
Et pour cause, la lumière crée le décor, elle l’éclaire, lui permet de s’exprimer. Quelle merveilleuse aventure que celle de la flamme, devenue lumière ! L’aventure de cette flamme du passé, dorée, protectrice, qui un jour, d’un mouvement du doigt jouant avec l’interrupteur délivre la clarté désirée à la place de travail, au lieu de repos…
De la lampe à huile de l’Antiquité, aux bougies et chandelles du Moyen-Âge, jusqu’aux premières ampoules à incandescence de Swan et Edison, les innovations techniques ont permis à la lampe d’évoluer au fil des siècles… Des merveilleux abat-jours en verre à petit plomb Tiffany jusqu’aux provocants modèles des années 1960 et 1970, la lampe est le témoignage d’une société mouvante, en perpétuelle recherche artistique et technologique. Les luminaires sont des témoins privilégiés de l’évolution de notre monde. La très grande diversité de lampes, en termes de forme et de matériaux, s’explique aussi par la multiplicité des usages auxquels on les employait. Les romains célébraient les réjouissances publiques par des illuminations. On suspendait des lampes aux fenêtres le jour où naissait un Prince. Ainsi, au fil des siècles, la lampe n’a eu de cesse de se transformer, et de modifier ses services.

Dès le début de l’Humanité, le feu sera la seule source de lumière, le premier moyen de lutter contre l’obscurité. Le feu intervient comme un progrès psychique avant d’être technique !

Autant de formes que de lampes !

Depuis toujours, l’évolution du dessin suit les besoins de l’Homme : se chauffer, se protéger, s’éclairer, et enfin décorer son habitat !

Le Souffleur à la lampe, Georges de la Tour, 1640… La lumière inspire les peintres de l’école caravagesque ! Elle est un élément essentiel des compositions.

Aménagement intérieur de l’hôtel d’Orrouer appartenant à Hubert de Givenchy. Les lampes servent le décor global, le complètent et le mettent en avant.

Innovation et esthétique ! Ci-dessus, la lampe Lépine et Bourdon à triple courant d’air et vase en verre.

Tout au long du XXème siècle, la lampe continue de s’émanciper de sa fonction première, elle devient sculpture, elle devient objet d’art à part entière, elle surprend le regard et suscite souvent la curiosité par ses formes et par ses matériaux. Au tout début du siècle, son esthétique suit l’esprit si libre de la Belle Époque, et les formes s’inscrivent dans le style floral, particulièrement chargé de l’Art Nouveau. La lampe se pare de courbes, de couleurs, d’arabesques.

Cette lampe de table Lotus, en pâte de verre, ca 1900-1906, des studios Tiffany, était l’une des pièces les plus prestigieuses de l’époque. Le choix du Lotus révèle non seulement l’influence orientale et islamique qui régnait sur l’Art Nouveau, mais aussi de la fascination de l’époque pour les formes empruntées à la nature. A l’image de la lampe Champignon d’Emile Gallé à droite…

Demeure de Louis Comfort Tiffany, Oster Bay, Long Island

Dans le vaste mouvement européen de l’Art Nouveau, l’éphémère mouvement Jugendstil recherchera la rupture avec le passé ! Peter Berens tourne alors le dos à l’esthétique de la fin des années 90 et rejoint un contre-mouvement.

La décennie suivante et le style Art Déco imposera de la rigueur et un dépouillement ornemental quasi-total. Les lignes droites sont de mise, et la courbe, proscrite. La fin des années 20 dictent au mobilier une structure stricte, à l’image des luminaires.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Ce modèle de lampe à poser d’Edouard-Wilfrid Buquet, ca 1927, en métal chromé, témoigne de ces innovations technologiques mises au service du Design. Il dépose un brevet de lampe à balancier en 1927, cette lampe révolutionnaire restant stable grâce à un savant système de contrepoids réglables, avec un socle en bas également lesté. Ce système sera également utilisé par Marcel Breuer, Jacques-Emile Ruhlman…

D.R. – RMN

Créée en 1924, le lampe Religieuse de Pierre Chareau est l’un des chefs d’œuvre du XXème ! Véritable sculpture, l’artiste a l’audace de faire cohabiter un fut en bois massif, tout en rondeur et en sensualité, avec des albâtres très incisif dans leur forme, et que seul leur translucidité fragilise ! Tout en évoquant la fameuse cornette des religieuses…

Le parallèle est inévitable ! Carlo Mollino dessine en 1947 ce modèle de lampe en laiton, marbre et parchemin, qu’il appelle « Standard ».

La célèbre et intemporelle lampe WG25, crée en 1924, de Wilhem Wagenfeld, designer industriel allemand et élève du Bauhaus.

Jacques-Emile Ruhlmann, grand décorateur français des années 20, s’appliqua à créer des luminaires aux lignes épurées, il  est « épris de formes sveltes, finement rythmées, il goûtait amoureusement, presque sensuellement ces précieuses matières qu’il harmonisait à l’extérieur, comme à l’intérieur de ses meubles. »

Cette lampe issue des collections du Metropolitan Museum de New York est dessinée par Rulhmann en 1926.

Il participe à l’aménagement du Paquebot Ile-de-France, avec l’aide notamment de Jules-Emile Leleu, André Mare et Louis Süe, ou encore le peintre Mathurin Méheut. Ici, le grand salon de Première Classe.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Jean Prouvé affirmait « qu’il n’y a pas de différences entre la construction d’un meuble ou d’une maison ». Ce lustre octogonal de l’architecte français, ca. 1927, en fer forgé martelé et verre dépoli, puise aussi son inspiration dans des formes très rigoureuses, architecturales. On est à la frontière entre l’Art nouveau et l’art déco, on pressent la modernité !

Dans cette même veine, Robert Mallet Stevens, architecte et designer français, réalise son chef d’œuvre et véritable manifeste archictectural : la Villa Cavroix, à Croix. La lampe à poser du Hall-salon, ca. 1929, est un luminaire avant tout fonctionnel. Presque minimale.

La lumière n’est plus qu’une simple ampoule, elle devient le terrain de jeu des artistes de l’Union des Artistes Modernes, notamment dans ce hall d’entrée de leur première exposition en 1930.

Jean Royère, décorateur autodidacte iconique du XXe siècle, pense des meubles au dessin fantaisiste, décomplexé, s’affranchissant des codes. Il se consacre avant tout à la notion de décor, et imagine de véritables ensembles à l’esthétisme unique. Cette Lampe Liane, ca. 1950, met l’ornement au service de la fonctionnalité. Jean Royère déforme le tube de métal qui devient ainsi une ligne ondulée, à l’image d’une plante grimpante. Il dépasse la fonction première d’éclairer.

Et nos grands créateurs des années 50, eux, joue la simplicité avec la création de potences lumineuses !

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

La lampe redevient lampe, dans son plus simple appareil, avec Jean Prouvé, suivant l’état d’esprit et la mouvance esthétique de l’époque chez les architectes français de l’après-guerre : elle se dépouille. Cette potence, ca. 1947, en métal tubulaire laqué noir, allie élégance et minimalisme des moyens.

Maison à Meudon, ca. 1952

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Charlotte Perriand dessine elle aussi des potences pivotantes. Ce rare modèle de 1938 provient de son propre appartement rue Las Cases à Paris.

Ses luminaires se veulent fonctionnels, à l’image de l’ensemble de son mobilier. Elle imagine l’applique « CP1 », ca. 1965, lampe à volet pivotant, un système ingénieux permettant de déplacer l’orientation de la lumière. Son vaste chantier des Arcs en Savoie, est pour elle l’occasion d’appliquer ses idées en matière de fabrication en série.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Ci-dessus, la lampe s’inscrit dans un projet d’urbanisme précis. Cette borne lumineuse en béton est conçue par Le Corbusier en 1954. Le modèle est d’abord réalisé pour le parc de la Cité Radieuse de Marseille, et sera ensuite aussi utilisé dans les espaces publics de la ville de Chandigarh et la villa de Sarabhai à Amhedabad en Inde.

Dans les années 50, la lampe devient sculpture !

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Isamu Noguchi, pour sauver son village en difficulté après la guerre, dessine une série de luminaires inspirés de la tradition japonaise. Le style est moderne, il appellera cela « light sculpture ». Les lampes sont en papier mino, issu de l’arbre murier, et les formes rappellent les paniers de pêcheurs traditionnels.

Archives Steph Simon
Archives Steph Simon

Exposition à la galerie Steph Simon, boulevard Saint Germain, Paris

Serge Mouille, diplômé d’orfèvrerie et de dinanderie, décide également de consacrer l’ensemble de sa création aux luminaires, après avoir suivi une formation auprès de Jacques Adnet. Tout au long des années 50, Mouille conçoit des lampes aux structures porteuses angulaires mais aux réflecteurs courbes évoquant la forme douce et sensuelle du sein féminin, mêlant ainsi inventivité et délicatesse. Il met au point un système unique de rotule en laiton pour permettre aux réflecteurs de pivoter selon l’éclairage voulu.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Il crée dans les années 60 cette série de totems et signaux évoquant les buildings New Yorkais.

Le travail de l’artiste Dan Flavin est à souligner ici. « La lumière est un objet industriel, et familier » écrit Donald Judd en 1964 lorsqu’il se penche sur le travail de Flavin, « c’est un moyen nouveau pour l’art; désormais l’art pouvait être constitué de toute sorte d’objets, de matériaux, de techniques inédits ».

Collection privée, Belgique / Courtesy Galerie Downtown

Mouille affirme que « ses luminaires sont une réaction à des modèles italiens » contemporains, qui selon lui étaient « trop compliqués »…

Alors parlons-en !

A cette même époque, le design italien de l’après-guerre est marqué par un changement significatif avec celui de l’entre-deux-guerres. Toute une génération de créateurs va percevoir le mobilier d’une manière totalement différente, souvent ludique, où il s’agira de réinventer les formes et la fonction. Les couleurs, les formes, l’aspect premier de l’objet, sont redessinés et parfois, tournés en dérision !

L’entreprise Fontana Arte, fondée par les architectes Gio Ponti et Luigi Fontana, bénéficie de la prospérité économique des années 50. Les artisans hautement qualifiés à son service n’ont de cesse d’aller à la recherche de nouvelles techniques et de nouveaux modèles, comme cette suspension en verre, ca. 1955, ci-dessous.

Gino Sarfatti, connu pour son incroyable passion pour les luminaires, crée des modèles pleins de fantaisie, qui reflètent le climat de légèreté et d’exubérance qui régnait dans l’Italie d’après-guerre.

La recherche permanente d’innovation en termes de forme et de matériaux amène Gino Sarfatti au dessin de cette suspension « Moon » ca. 1969, l’un des créations singulières qui feront sa réputation !

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Ci-dessus, un autre modèle de lampadaire illustrant la production extrêmement diversifiée du designer, alliant rigueur et minimalisme, le modèle « 1063 », ca. 1954. Il utilise le néon comme élément structurel et décoratif.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown François Laffanour – D.R.

Au milieu des années 60, un groupe contestataire d’architectes et designers italiens – dont fait partie Ettore Sottsass – suit le mouvement de l’Antidesign, en réaction à la société de consommation. Il sera autant designer industriel, confronté à l’ergonomie et à la productivité qu’un créateur libre d’inventer tous les meubles et objets issus de son imagination ! La lampe Astéroïde, dessinée en 1968 illustre la richesse créative du designer.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Le miroir « Ultrafragola » aujourd’hui véritable icône, mêle les deux fonctions, se voir certes, mais de manière « éclairé ». Il est conçu au début des années 70 et sera produit par la maison Poltronova. Sa sinueuse silhouette évoque une chevelure de femme ondulée…

« En ce qui concerne les lumières qui sortent des « meubles gris », les tombes n’ont-elles pas toujours des lumières scintillantes qui éclairent la tristesse des espaces errants dans la vallée poussiéreuse ? Et les sous-marins n’ont pas de lumières vertes qui clignotent dans leur ventre ? Les lumières sont censées sortir du corps en fibre de verre, comme le blanc brillant de la peau des seins blancs, ou la pointe rouge éclatante du pénis dans les nuits porno, quelque chose comme ça, je veux dire quelque chose comme les lucioles japonaise qui transforment les nuits de mai en matière solide. Peut-il y avoir quelque chose de plus ridicule ? »

(Ettore Sottsass,  » Quelque chose pourrait-il être plus ridicule ? », Dans « Design », Londres, 262, octobre 1970)

Exposition « Ettore Sottsass », 2017, Galerie Downtown, Paris

Archives Superstudio : la lumière dans le décor est réduite à une simple ampoule, en opposition avec l’excentricité du reste de l’aménagement.

Gaetano Pesce et sa lampe « Airport », dessinée en 1986, en uréthane souple et métal. Il affirmait « J’aime les objets utiles, comme le mobilier ou les luminaires, que je transforme en éléments militants ». En designer visionnaire, il s’est toujours servi des matériaux de son temps, comme un moyen de mieux connaitre son époque.

Et ci-dessus, la lampe Moloch, ca. 1970. Œuvre maitresse de l’artiste, cette lampe est probablement l’une des dernières créations euphoriques de l’artiste, elle sera d’ailleurs l’une des icônes de l’exposition qui consacrera l’Italie et l’artiste : « Italy, the New Domestic Landscape » au MoMA à New York en 1972.

Ci-dessous, le lampadaire Golden Gate dessiné en 1970 par l’artiste Nanda Vigo, qui s’intéresse particulièrement à la lumière et à la dynamique, et qui construit l’espace au moyen d’éléments lumineux et de matériaux issus de la production industrielle comme le verre, le miroir et le néon.

Elle rencontre pendant sa carrière Lucio Fontana, qui lui aussi travaillera sur la lumière en réalisant notamment des structures en néon, intitulée « Luce Spaziale », pour la IXe Triennale de Milan en 1951, mais également pour le pavillon italien de l’exposition de Turin en 1961…

L’artiste grec Vassilakis Takis, disparu récemment, n’a eu de cesse, tout au long de sa prolifique carrière, de créer des œuvres magnétiques et sonores, puissantes, de véritables hymnes à l’énergie et à l’univers. Un jour, en attendant le train pour Londres, il fut fasciné par le ballet incessant des signaux et des flashs qui l’environnaient. Les sculptures monumentales de la Défense (ci-dessus) sont pensées comme une forêt de lumière que se créé artificiellement l’Homme pour se repérer et éviter la mort.

Ci-dessus, Signaux lumineux de Takis dans une collection privée.

De retour en France, à la fin des années 70, Philippe Starck dessine « Easy Light ». Il conçoit ainsi la disparition totale de la lampe en tant qu’objet, pour ne garder qu’un bâton de lumière, un simple faisceau pouvant être en mouvement permanent, selon les besoins de son propriétaire.

Ici, Philippe Starck et son Easy Light se promènent aux Bains Douches !

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Ci-dessus, une paire de chevets lumineux dessinés par Ron Arad, de son époque One-off. L’œuvre un objet doublement fonctionnel, mais il est aussi une véritable sculpture, suivant une esthétique quasi-punk.

Il conçoit également en 1980 cette lampe à bras téléscopique télécomandée, nommée « Aerial Light ».

Changement de décor !

Ingo Maurer, disparu récemment, designer allemand formé aux arts graphiques, se spécialise dans l’éclairage et se consacre à la création d’ensembles lumineux. Ces derniers se caractérisent par un style poétique, enchanteur, avec toujours une pointe d’humour et d’espièglerie.

Ci-dessous, la suspension « Cuore Aperto » dessinée en 1996 spécialement pour la « Sagra », une fête annuelle italienne qu’Ingo Maurer affectionnait particulièrement.

Courtesy Galerie Downtown – François Laffanour

Ici, ce prototype en aluminium de 2,80m de diamètre, a été réalisé pour le Hudson Hotel de New York en 2000.

Aujourd’hui, le sculpteur contemporain peut aussi voir dans l’objet fonctionnel une manière de mettre en « Lumière »son œuvre, à l’image de Richard Texier dont luminaires reprennent un bestiaire terrestre et aquatique issu des Arbres de Vie, qu’il a créé dans les années 2000.

Olafur Eliasson, artiste contemporain, explore quant à lui les différentes facettes de ce qu’il appelle « la matérialité », notamment la notion de lumière. Ses œuvres sont monumentales et sensorielles. Ci-dessus, the Weather Project, conçue en 2003 pour la Tate Modern à Londres. Cette puissance installation lumineuse emporte le visiteur dans un autre monde : une œuvre entre poésie et surréalisme.

James Turell, artiste américain contemporain, conçoit une série intitulée « skyspaces », qui se compose de chambres lumineuses autonomes, constituant une expérience immersive. Chaque chambre est dotée d’une ouverture au plafond qui s’ouvre vers le ciel, afin de faire vivre la lumière au spectateur en le faisant osciller entre ciel et terre.

Et la lumière fut !

© depuis 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

Inscription à la newsletter

Pour recevoir la newsletter de la galerie Laffanour-Downtown, merci d’utiliser le formulaire de contact ci-dessous.