Georges Nakashima

09/27 – 11/17 2007
33 rue de Seine

Share

Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

From 1936 to 1939, George Nakasima (1905-1990) traveled in Europe and also visited India and China, before returning to Japan where he worked for two years in the office of the architect Raymond Antonin.
Back in Seattle in 1940, he opened his first studio with the priest Tibesar. During the Second World War, from 1942 to 1943, because of his Japanese origins, he was interned in a camp in Idaho, during which time he learned traditional Japanese woodworking. It was the architect Raymond Antonin who got him out of the camp and offered him a place on his farm in New Hope, Pennsylvania. It is from this new workshop that his most famous pieces will come out.
A true craftsman, he limited his production to what he could make himself with the help of a few assistants. Each piece is a work of art created for a specific place and most often intended for private individuals.

© since 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Member of Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Member of Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partner of the Museum of Decorative Arts

Subscribe to the newsletter

To receive the Laffanour-Downtown Gallery newsletter, please use the contact form below.

Georges Nakashima

27/09 – 17/11 2007
33 rue de Seine

Partager

Partager sur email
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp

De 1936 à 1939, George Nakashima (1905-1990) voyage en Europe et visite aussi l’Inde et la Chine, avant de rejoindre le Japon où il va travailler pendant deux ans dans le bureau de l’architecte Raymond Antonin.
De retour à Seattle en 1940, il ouvre son premier atelier avec le prêtre Tibesar. Pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, de 1942 à 1943, à cause de ses origines japonaises, il est interné dans un camp dans l’Idaho, période pendant laquelle il va apprendre l’ébénisterie traditionnelle japonaise. C’est l’architecte Raymond Antonin qui l’en fait sortir et lui offre de s’installer dans sa propriété agricole de New Hope en Pennsylvanie. C’est de ce nouvel atelier que vont sortir ses plus fameuses pièces.
Véritable artisan, il limite sa production à ce qu’il peut réaliser lui-même avec l’aide de quelques assistants. Chaque pièce est une oeuvre d’art créée pour un lieu spécifique et le plus souvent destinée à des particuliers.

© depuis 1980 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

©2020 Laffanour Galerie Downtown
18 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris
+33 1 46 33 82 41

Membre de la Compagnie Nationale des Experts
Membre du Syndicat National des Antiquaires
Partenaire du Musée des Arts Décoratifs

Inscription à la newsletter

Pour recevoir la newsletter de la galerie Laffanour-Downtown, merci d’utiliser le formulaire de contact ci-dessous.